Prepping for Summer Vacation

I’ve always been a planner and a list maker, so getting my celiac diagnosis didn’t change this, but perhaps made it even more necessary. In just over a week my little family will be taking a two-week summer vacation, starting with a 12 hour drive – with a 6 month old. Yikes! Wish us luck!

Planning to travel with a baby is one thing, but I also have to plan ahead to ensure I can eat safely along the way. We are spending 1 week at our family cabin, a few days with my in-laws, and a few days at my parents before the final 7 hour trek home.

Our family cabin is old, and so is everything in it. Which means I’m not trusting the kitchen to be a very gluten-free zone. I’m planning to bring my own gluten-free kitchen kit just to be safe. It will include:

  • frying pan
  • boiling pot
  • cutting board
  • knife
  • colander
  • sponges
  • lots of tinfoil to cover the grill
  • toaster bags

What else do you bring with you? There is a dishwasher there now so the dishes and cutlery should be safe, although I will probably give them a wash before I use them just to be safe.

I’m also planning for the road trip. We’ll be packing more food then we could possibly eat, but a 12 hour drive will include breakfast, lunch and dinner so we’ll need lots. So far on the list is:

  • gluten-free muffins
  • beef jerky
  • fruit
  • veggies & hummus
  • sandwiches on gluten-free bread
  • granola bars
  • cheese & crackers (the Breton white bean and black bean crackers are our favourite!)

Once we’re at the lake I’m planning for lots of quick and easy dinners, mostly made on the BBQ. Of course I’m hoping for good weather which means it’ll be hot in the cabin and we won’t want to cook inside. I’m thinking burgers, BBQ chicken, steak, sausage & peppers… I’m getting hungry thinking about it.

Food is attached to a lot of great memories for me. And camping and cabin-life are no exception. What are your favourite camp/cabin/summer/BBQ foods? What items must you have for a successful summer vacation? Any tips on travelling with little ones?

One response to “Prepping for Summer Vacation

  1. Is it weird that reading other peoples lists is almost as satisfying as writing my own?

Leave a Reply

