Happy Gluten-Free Easter!

Although my husband and I are not religious in any way, we do celebrate the major holidays because, let’s be honest, I love any excuse to cook and eat big meals. I FINALLY started feeling better on Saturday afternoon and was looking forward to doing some cooking on Sunday. I didn’t invite anyone over because I didn’t know when I’d be feeling better. Either way I was cooking a turkey. They were on sale and it was a good excuse to make homemade broth and soup; but it was much more enjoyable to be feeling better and making a day out of it. Luckily for me, a day in the kitchen is fun for me, even before my celiac diagnosis.

A few days before cooking day I started defrosting the turkey, and checked out my roaster. It needed a good cleaning – yet as much as I scrubbed I couldn’t get the sticky layer off it. I don’t think I would have even noticed this if I wasn’t worried about cross contamination, but I couldn’t help but think that the roaster was covered in gluten. I know all the turkeys before had been stuffed with bread and that wheat flour gravy had been made right in the pan. As sad as I am to give up this beautiful roaster my mother-in-law found for me (like literally, searched and searched and proudly found just for me… I’m so sad) I couldn’t risk the cross contamination, so I bought a foil roaster to use instead.

On Sunday morning I started prepping the turkey for dinner. I have always loved the way my mom cooks turkey and stuffing, so I’ve pretty much only done it that way my whole life. I knew I needed to find a way to make a juicy and flavourful turkey without traditional bread stuffing. I looked up a bunch of different recipes for inspiration, and made up my own based on what I had in my kitchen. I came up with a Garlic & Herb Vegetable Stuffed Turkey.

turkey roasted stuffed

Once the turkey was in the oven I made my husband and me an Easter brunch. Poached eggs on Udi’s gluten-free bread, bacon, and slices of kiwi and strawberry. It was a beautiful morning so it was great to have a leisurely breakfast in a sunny kitchen. It very much felt like Easter, and finally is starting to feel like spring.

Easter Brunch full

Two hours later the house was smelling amazing – a combination of roasted turkey and roasted garlic. I bought a new electric thermometer that stays in the bird the whole time it’s in the oven. My parents have one and it’s amazing. This one… not so much. It said the turkey was ready after two hours, which I didn’t believe. It didn’t “look” done. And I hadn’t had a chance to remove the foil and let it brown up yet. I moved the thermometer and watched the temperature DROP. Ok. So, I was right, it wasn’t ready yet. Back in the oven. And soon enough the thermometer was beeping again, saying it was done. The temp jumped up and down until I finally just stopped it and followed the amount of time I knew it should take. AT LEAST 3 hours. It took 3.5. Finally when the turkey looked done and both my old and new thermometer said it was done, I took it out. It looked and smelled amazing. (Look at all those beautiful herbs right on that breast meat!)

Easter Dinner 3

I also served mashed potatoes, steamed asparagus, the vegetable stuffing and gravy made from these McCormick gluten-free gravy mixes and the drippings from the turkey pan.gf gravy mix The meal was delicious, and I ate way too much, as evidenced by this picture of the embarrassingly large serving with way too much gravy that I ate.
I woke up with a big stomach ache this morning – but this one is different than a “gluten” stomach ache. This is an “I ate too much and should be ashamed of myself” stomach ache. Haha! Luckily I know it will go away soon. It was a wonderful day all together, filled with delicious food, time with my husband, and finally feeling like myself again. Happy Easter! Or, Happy Four-Day Long Weekend filled with the celebration of your choosing! Now, to make broth! 🙂

embarassing plate of food

One response to “Happy Gluten-Free Easter!

  1. What a feast! 🙂

Leave a Reply

