(Almost) Gluten-Free Birthday

Today is my husband’s birthday, and my in-laws are here for the weekend to celebrate. Which means more cooking for guests and the chance to educate my friends and family. They’ve all been so supportive and interested in learning. I just hope I’m not annoying them too much with all my gf-talk.

I’ve read that my friends and family should understand that gluten = poison and therefore I don’t need to have gluten-filled foods for other people – but I want to. It was my husband’s birthday and I wanted to give him a regular cake and he requested an Oriental Party Pack from M&M Meats. So I obliged. I did however work very hard to keep the items separate and prevent cross-contamination. Our guests were understanding and willing when I explained not to use the serving tongs from the gf snacks on the non-gf snacks.

gf snacks 2

We didn’t really need the non-gf snacks cause I found and made some great gluten-free appetizers. On top of the obvious veggies and hummus and corn-tortilla chips and salsa, I bought gluten-free pork bites from M&M Meats, a gluten-free ciabatta from a local gf bakery with olive oil and balsamic for dipping, made a tomato, basil bruschetta, and chicken wings with a gluten-free BBQ sauce from Hot Mama’s. Although a bit salty for me, I really enjoyed the pork bites and will definitely buy those again for a quick and easy dinner. The chicken wings were easy and delicious as well.

gf snacks


Gluten-Free Garlic BBQ Chicken Wings
Printable: BBQ chicken wings

pkg chicken wings
gluten-free BBQ sauce, to taste (I used Hot Mama’s Garlic BBQ Sauce)

Pre-heat oven to 400. Cover 2 baking sheets with aluminum foil and spray with cooking oil. Spread out chicken wings in a single layer, leaving space between each. Bake in oven 20 minutes, rotate position in the oven, bake for another 10 minutes. If the chicken wings stick to the pan they may not be ready yet. I tried to flip mine half way and they wouldn’t budge. After 10 more minutes in the oven they loosened up on their own and came off easily when they were done cooking.

Place cooked wings in an oven safe baking dish and add as much BBQ sauce as you like on your wings. Stir to coat. Return to the oven for 10 minutes, stirring half way.


We had a small party for my husband’s birthday so of course there was birthday cake. I haven’t ventured into the world of gluten-free baking just yet so I didn’t want to start for his birthday, especially since I am known to make intricate cakes for his past birthdays. So instead, I bought a cake. Sad. I know. But the idea of baking with flour in my own kitchen terrifies me so it had to be done. But so that I didn’t feel left out I stopped by the local gluten-free bakery for the first time and went a little crazy. I bought cookies and brownies and cake pops and a delicious ciabatta bread. I didn’t go crazy and eat it all at once like I wanted to, but I did eat a cake pop while everyone else ate a Boston Cream Cake and ice cream. All in all, it was a great birthday celebration.

cake pop 2

Leave a Reply

