What I Ate Wednesday

I’ve been an avid lover of food and food related things (shows, magazines, blogs, books, stores, gadgets…) for as long as I can remember. Which means I’ve read a lot of blogs and follow a lot of food bloggers on social media. I’ve heard the words “What I Ate Wednesday” many times before but wasn’t exactly sure what it was. I looked up what the real What I Ate Wednesday is: a dietician/blogger has inspired bloggers across the inter-webs to share a food journal of what they ate one day a week, Wednesday to be specific. 😉

My first What I Ate Wednesday post I wrote was inspired by these words. Although not everything I eat in a day is exciting, I think it’s a great way to share the favorite things I’ve been eating throughout the week. I don’t have time to post each day but have been really excited and inspired with the delicious gluten-free meals I’ve been making each night. I will try to also share my favorite recipes when I have a chance, but this way, at least once a week, I can share what I’ve been enjoying.

Like I said, I’ve been excited and inspired by what we’ve been eating lately. I have been spending a lot of time in the kitchen, but I’m having fun, eating great, and feeling the benefits. Here are a few of my favorites (well, the ones I got pictures of!).

Lettuce Wrapped Gluten-free Chicken Burger with Sweet Potato Fries

Lettuce wrapped gluten-free chicken burger with sweet potato fries

I was extra surprised by these. I’ve heard of lettuce wrapped burgers before but I was skeptical. “Lettuce around a burger? How is that possible? It would wilt under the heat and fall apart in your hands” – NOPE! It was AMAZING! It packed into a perfect little bundle and held together until the last bite (or two, depending on how big the lettuce leaf is). I’ll definitely share this recipe soon!

Gluten-free Spaghetti & Meatballs

GF Spaghetti and Meatballs

This was my first taste of gluten-free pasta. I followed the recommendation of other GF friends and started with Tikyada. It was a good introduction and I will definitely continue to try more GF pasta options in the future. The meatballs were pre-made and marked ‘gluten free’ in the meat department at the grocery store. A quick and easy meal!

Chicken & Cucumber Sandwich

Chicken Sandwich

My first taste of gluten-free bread – All But Gluten whole grain bread – it was on sale so is the first brand to sample. Toasted as a sandwich it is a good alternative to the real thing. My husband even ate it by choice over regular bread (“If you didn’t tell me it was gluten-free I’d just think it was a fancy grain-bread” -CM). We also tried the Cinnamon Raisin which was delicious too. After a bad experience with GF deli meat I’ve decided to cook meat for sandwiches, salads, snacks etc. to have throughout the week, so a container of cooked chicken breast is becoming a regular feature in our fridge.

Bacon Wrapped Pork Loin & Nut-Free, Gluten-Free Pesto Gnocchi

Bacon Wrapped Pork & Pesto Gnocchi

Did I mention my husband is allergic to nuts? We are currently a nut-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, fun-free household. (I joke!) In all honesty we are paying attention to what goes into our bodies more than ever before, and eating amazing food while we’re doing it.

I think I can get a hang of this new celiac life of mine!

*Disclaimer: All opinions are my own. I’m clearly an amateur blogger and have not been influenced by any of the companies whose products I talk about. But, if anyone wants to pay me to talk about their products, I’m in. Haha!*

Leave a Reply

