What I Ate Wednesday

I have been feeling better and better every day after three weeks of gluten-free eating. I’m starting to get the hang of things and making some delicious meals in the meantime. I’ve always been a fan of spending time in the kitchen, so I don’t mind the extra time in the kitchen too much, though I can imagine this would all be a lot harder for someone that isn’t as big of a fan of cooking. I have been spending a lot of time in the kitchen, at the grocery store, and reading labels – although I am surprised how often I’ve used something and then thought, “Oh crap, I didn’t read the label! Hope it’s o.k…” Not really a good habit to get into this early into my recovery.

Some things I’ve been enjoying lately:

Chicken Salad Lettuce Wraps with Avocado

chicken salad lettuce wraps

Ground Beef Spaghetti Sauce on Spaghetti Squash

spaghetti squash w meat sauce

Sausage and Spinach Stuffed Mushroom Caps

sausage & spinach stuffed mushroom cap

And many many snack plates/bento boxes that look kind of like this…

snack plate

I do a lot of snacking. I can only eat small amounts at a time and therefore have to eat often so snacking works best. I had very busy day at work today so I packed a bento lunch kit with bite size pieces of chicken, cucumber, carrot sticks, glutino crackers, berries and almonds and snacked throughout the day.

The stuffed mushrooms were delicious, but also let me know that me and dairy aren’t getting along right now, so I’ve completely cut it out of my diet for now. I see my doctor again tomorrow to talk about some continued problems I’m having. I don’t know if I’m just getting impatient and just need to wait for my insides to heal, or if I am actually reacting to other things too. I just want to be healthy and well again – the little things in life we take for granted until they’re gone.

Leave a Reply

