Learning Curve

Lesson 1: Don’t believe everything you read online! As soon as I found out I had celiac disease I started googling. Is __________ gluten free? was searched over and over and over and over again. I’ve found websites and blogs and forums. Some are more helpful then others. Some contradict others. Some are outdated or just plain incorrect.

Lesson 2: location, location, location. Apparently Worcestershire Sauce is gluten-free…. in the US. NOT in Canada. I googled “Is Worcestershire Sauce gluten-free?” and found the Lea & Perrins website that states “Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce.”

Excited, I dumped a bunch in my slow cooker pot roast. It was delicious. But I woke up at 12:30 am running to the bathroom and felt off all day the next day. I mean, I am just starting to feel better, but it was a major difference than the day before. Since the Worcestershire Sauce was the only suspect item I googled again, “Is Worcestershire Sauce gluten-free?”

And found this forum. There is a different recipe used for the sauce that is made in Canada vs. the US.

Lesson 3: Always read the label. In reading the ingredients of Worcestershire Sauce in Canada the first ingredient is “Malt Vinegar (BARLEY).” To be honest, I read some of that contradictory/incorrect information and thought I read something about the distillation process removes the gluten even though there is malt vinegar in it – but I either read wrong, or was mislead.

Lesson 4: If you don’t know – don’t risk it. Skip. Or, call the manufacturer which is usually listed on the packaging. I haven’t done this yet – I’m ok to just skip for now and learn as I go. I learn a little more every day, and feel a little better every day, so its worth missing out on a few things for now.

2 responses to “Learning Curve

  1. Hang in there – it does get easier as you learn more.

Leave a Reply

