“GLUTEN FREE”

When I first told my husband that I had I had a positive blood test for celiac disease he seemed to shrug it off. When I asked him why he didn’t take it seriously he said, “Isn’t that just what the doctor says when they can’t figure out what is actually wrong? Everyone has celiac disease these days!”

Nope. Not really.

After the official diagnosis I visited my doctor and he said it isn’t quite as common as it seems. A lot of people have been adopting a gluten free diet, which is a bit of a fad at the moment, and there are a lot of people who are ‘gluten intolerant’ but only a lucky few actually have celiac disease. In fact, I’m the 2nd lucky patient in his entire practice (and this is a busy doctor).

Before the diagnosis I might have agreed with my husband. Celiac. Paleo. Low-carb. Gluten-free seems to be everywhere all of a sudden. I went to the pharmacy to buy acidophilus when I was first sick, hoping to help the tummy problems, and saw “gluten-free” on the vitamin bottle label. I rolled my eyes and laughed to myself, “Really?! Does everything need to be marked gluten-free these days?”

YES!!!!! EVERYTHING should be marked whether or not it has gluten in it!!!

Today, only a few weeks since that eye-rolling moment, I am SO grateful every time I see those beautiful words stamped on products: GLUTEN-FREE! The two words that mean I don’t have to second guess. I don’t have to stare at the label and wonder if there is gluten hiding in that “seasoning” or “colour” or “other things I just haven’t learned yet because this is all so new and such a huge learning curve”!

A few weeks ago I never knew there was gluten in soy sauce, broth, vitamins, lotions, shampoos, STAMPS… and only a few days into this whole thing there are so many more unknowns. Those two little words mean so much to me right now – they mean I know!

Leave a Reply

